Discipline and Doctorates

I have just started my seminary education at The Southern Baptist Theological.  This semester I am only taking two courses.  One of my courses, Systematic Theology, is taught by Dr. Stephen Wellum.  I am enjoying this class and would like to share one thing he said last class which I found interesting.  He said (paraphrasing), “Getting your doctorate is more about discipline than it is about intelligence.” 

Upon hearing this statement I thought, “Praise the Lord!  There is hope for me to someday get my doctorate.”  Intelligent, I am not.  Being disciplined, though, seems more attainable.  I am used to discipline as I have gone through my undergraduate studies and work experience.  Intelligence, on the other hand, always appears to be fading in the distance as I scramble towards it.

My thoughts then went to the discipline as seen in the life of a believer.  Aren’t I to be disciplined, not just in academic studies or in my career, but in my life before God?  Paul gives this instruction below to Timothy as he instructs him in the ministry.  I believe though, the minister is to do this as an example to the whole church.  These words then are not just for ministers, but for all in the church who live as good servants of Jesus Christ. 

Have nothing to do with irreverent, silly myths. Rather train yourself for godliness; for while bodily training is of some value, godliness is of value in every way, as it holds promise for the present life and also for the life to come.

1 Timothy 4:7-8

Discipline is not simply needed for academic endeavors, but for all who live for Christ.  Focus on discipline which leads to godliness.  These are truly lives lived following God and are for His glory.  Gaining godliness holds promise now and for the life to come.  Our discipline for godliness is not merely a temporary undertaking, but it has benefits that go into eternity.  What steps are you taking to discipline yourself for godliness?

Leave a comment