The Rare Jewel of Christian Contentment

I recently purchased a book by Jeremiah Burroughs entitled The Rare Jewel of Christian Contentment.  I bought this book because I have seen lately my own need for contentment.  So far I have found this book a great encouragement, help, and rebuke.  Not only has the author challenged the way I think, he has also pressed the Word of God to my heart and shown me my sinfulness.  I believe this is what a “good” book must do.  Those books I have found most pleasant over the years are not the ones who simply state something I agree with.  Instead, they are the ones which skillfully use the Word of God to perform open-heart surgery on my soul.

I wanted here to give the definition Burroughs uses for contentment.  He gives the following description:

Christian contentment is that sweet, inward, quiet, gracious frame of spirit, which freely submits to and delights in God’s wise and fatherly disposal in every condition.

What is impressed upon me by this definition is the fact that it must be the habitual way of the Christian.  Perhaps I am able to live this definition out here and there, but to live it out all the time?  To live it out in every circumstance?  How am I going to be able to do this?  I will only be able to accomplish this by the grace of God working in my heart.  It is only a heart that “freely submits to and delights in God’s wise and fatherly disposal.”  Not only is it a surrendered heart, it is a delighting heart.  Is a heart content when it is content merely out of duty?  The content heart does submit, but it also delights in how God works and why God works. 

Listen to what Burroughs says about the importance of habitual contentment:

A Christian who, in the constant tenor and temper of his heart, can carry himself quietly with constancy has learned the lesson of contentment. Otherwise his Christianity is worth nothing, for no one, however furious is his discontent, will not be quiet when he is in a good mood.

Read over that last sentence a couple times, and think about what your Christianity is worth as you contemplate your contentment.  I look forward to sharing more from this book in following blogs.  Until then meditate on these great words from God’s Word.

Not that I am speaking of being in need, for I have learned in whatever situation I am to be content.  Philippians 4:11